Meta pixel

Fleet documentation

Welcome to the documentation for Fleet, the lightweight management platform for laptops and servers.

search

Can't find what you're looking for? Support

{{page.title}}

Setup

Edit page

Setup

To turn on macOS, iOS, and iPadOS MDM features, follow the instructions on this page to connect Fleet to Apple Push Notification service (APNs).

To use automatic enrollment (aka zero-touch) features on macOS, iOS, and iPadOS, follow instructions to connect Fleet with Apple Business Manager (ABM).

To turn on Windows MDM features, head to this Windows MDM setup article.

Apple Push Notification service (APNs)

Apple uses APNs to authenticate and manage interactions between Fleet and hosts.

To connect Fleet to APNs or renew APNs, head to the Settings > Integrations > Mobile device management (MDM) page.

An icon indicating that this section has important information

Apple requires that APNs certificates are renewed annually.

  • If your certificate expires, you will have to turn MDM off and back on for all macOS hosts.
  • Be sure to use the same Apple ID from year-to-year. If you don't, you will have to turn MDM off and back on for all macOS hosts.

Apple Business Manager (ABM)

An icon indicating that this section has important information

Available in Fleet Premium

To connect Fleet to ABM or renew ABM, head to the Settings > Integrations > Automatic enrollment > Apple Business Manager page.

After connecting Fleet to ABM, set Fleet to be the MDM for all Macs:

  1. Log in to Apple Business Manager
  2. Click your profile icon in the bottom left
  3. Click Preferences
  4. Click MDM Server Assignment and click Edit next to Default Server Assignment.
  5. Switch Mac to Fleet.

New or wiped macOS, iOS, and iPadOS hosts that are in ABM, before they've been set up, appear in Fleet with MDM status set to "Pending".

All macOS hosts that automatically enroll will be assigned to the default team. If no default team is set, then the host will be placed in "No team".

An icon indicating that this section has important information

A host can be transferred to a new (not default) team before it enrolls. In the Fleet UI, you can do this under Settings > Teams.

Try it out

See what Fleet can do

Start now

An arrow pointing upBack to top